MIMM: Old Job, New Job

I’m linking up with Katie today because things have been marvelous around these parts. Here are some updates about the last days at the old job and the first days at the new job.

I am already so awkward but these goodbyes at the old job! Super weird. Especially because the majority of them were people that I liked and got along with, but knew I wouldn’t keep in contact with. Ya know? One person advised to “enjoy your life”, and I was like “Errr. Okay. Yeah. Will do. Thanks.”

I chose not to tell old job co-workers where my next job was, since my new company is owned by an (old job) competitor. So, when people at work asked, I said “I’d rather not say”. My dad and friends assured me over and over this was a standard practice, but I still felt like such a sketch-ball saying it. The reactions varied from, “What? Why? Did you sign a NDA? Is it not official? Well that’s weird, why won’t you say? When will we find out? That’s silly!” were a few of my favorite reactions. I still haven’t updated my LinkedIn because co-workers from the last job are blowing up my profile with views. Mwahaha.

About the new job! I’m doing social media full-time. It is SO great so far, but it’s only been a week, haha. The first week week was a lot of training and orientation. I am just trying to familiarize myself with ALL THE INFORMATION. So much information. And so many faces and names that I somehow cannot grasp despite writing notes like “julie – yellow shirt”. Well, the next day when Julie probably isn’t wearing a yellow shirt? No clue who she is. I’ve found myself wishing for the month to go fast so I feel more acclimated and am more settled because I really like it so far and can’t wait to get up to speed and feel like I grasp everything.

The interview story. It’s classic. It spread to a bunch of people in the office and it’s fun to hear their side of it. Apparently everyone was gathered around the interviewers’ desk, trying to find out what was going on, while she was on the phone with me. A few people commented my first day “We were all trying to get you here [that interview day]! We were so pulling for you!” Anyway, the crazy interview was a really good intro. When meeting people, they’d jokingly ask “How was your drive? Was your drive better than last time?” And it was the perfect springboard to banter back and forth, and circumvent the repetitive “hi, nice to meet you”.

Unlike my old job, there are lots of people my age and they’re all so nice and funny. A bunch of them invited me out to the Orioles game with them on Friday night. I was really nervous as I’m definitely still very much in that “introverted new girl, no clue how I fit in, try not to kill them with awkward” phase. I may or may not have given myself a pep talk on the way there that consisted of “just be cool, for God’s sake!!!” But, and I’m trying not to sound manic, I really did have so much fun. It was one of the best nights I’ve had out in a loooong time. 

Right now I’m sitting down the hall from all the people my age, seated with the summer temps, who are gone all day. It’s pretty isolating and lonely. BUT! In a few weeks, we’re all rearranging so I will be closer to them. It will be good.

My new building is huge, and it also has something I’m super pumped about: a cafeteria! I haven’t seen it yet, since I’m sure I’ll get lost, and nobody in training has time for that. But in time. I don’t have high expectations for it, but still. A cafeteria!! I’ll keep you posted on this exciting milestone.

I used to work 7-3:30 and it was the best. I freaking loved it. I didn’t realize how much I loved it until I didn’t work it anymore. I would be home by 4 pm and I’d have an hour in the kitchen by myself to make tomorrow’s meals and throw something together for dinner. I went to my weekly happy hours at my favorite bar at 4:30, and it was the best to be there before any crowds. Have I said yet it was the best? My last week at my old job I was a little bored and ordered some bras off Amazon. I definitely was not thinking about my new hours and that I wouldn’t be the one to pick the package up from the neighbor. My roommate (the guy) had to pick up my packages with a label that loudly proclaimed they were from Lingerie Diva. Cringe.

Now I work 9-5:30. I am adjusting. It is exciting to have more flexibility in the morning. I can sleep later, I have extra time to make a smoothie, I can go to more morning fitness classes. The first day, it was incredibly weird to be sitting at my desk at 3:30 and realize I had TWO MORE HOURS remaining, but so far it really isn’t too bad. For my first week I kept waking up at 6 a.m because I was so panicked that I’d somehow still be late. I’d just watch TV because I didn’t want to risk falling back asleep and not getting up. Dear Routine…. I miss you desperately but we’ll figure it out.

Saturday morning, I went to Rev for Mary’s barre class. I was so excited to hear they were adding it to the class schedule. With my new hours, I can’t make it to her class at my gym anymore. But Saturdays at 9 am? No bueno. I was a little hungover from the Orioles game and put on an even more miserable performance in class then my usual horrible standards. I really like barre though so I hope to make it out to her class every week!

Whew, that was a lot. Thanks to Katie for hosting and have a marvelous day.

3 thoughts on “MIMM: Old Job, New Job

  1. Ahhhhhh so exciting! I’m really intrigued by the company you’re working for but maybe you’ll tell me soon 😉 I’ll be working 10-7 and it’s going to be SO WEIRD. Lucky for us, it means we can both go to November Project!!!!! So new goal: we’re hanging out before Labor Day.

  2. Congrats on the new job! I work 9-5 and sadly I sleep in a lot instead of being productive. I’m trying to get into work earlier since my hours are flexible. Let’s do a late post 5:30 people happy hour sometime!

Leave a Reply

