Little Miss Sunshine

Sarah is oh so kind and nominated me for the sunshine award.  Hurr are my answers to Sarah’s questions.

sunshine

The Rules:

1.  Include award logo in a post or on your blog.
2.  Link to the person who nominated you.
3.  Answer 10 questions about yourself 
4.  Nominate 10 bloggers to receive the award.

1.     What was/is your favorite subject in school and why?

English. Always English. Mainly because reading is like, my favorite thing to do ever, and I’m so in awe of people who can write so elegantly and make it seem so effortless. And because that side of my brain that’s supposed to do the science and math is in a 24 year coma.

2.     Who is your role model?

Gahhh. Ellen Degeneres is one. I think she exemplifies a great lesson that if you’re nice and treat people respectfully, people don’t forget that. I feel like she gets a lot of exclusive news/gossip tidbits from celebrities because they feel so comfortable with her and because she’s so genuinely kind. Now, she’s comfortable with herself publicly, stays true to herself and makes no apologies [only jokes]. Others are J.K Rowling [FLAWLESS QUEEN I BOW DOWN], Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Mindy Kaling [when awkward, funny girls are successful, we all win], and Michelle Obama [nothing to do with politics—she’s just amazing].

3.     What is your favorite animal?

DOG! There is nothing like a dog’s unconditional loyalty, boundless love and that they’re always so, so over the moon excited to see you. I think the world would be a better place if everyone had dogs, but some people just aren’t worthy of them. If I had my way and were a millionaire, I’d buy a mansion [or build one, it depends] with like 10 acres and rescue like 10 dogs. They just make me happy. I up and quit rooting for the Eagles [I’m from PA, didcha know] because we signed Michael Vick and looking at his face makes me queasy. I also really like dolphins, pandas, koala bears, and penguins.

4.     What toppings do you put on your ice cream/froyo?

Haha, such a Sarah question 🙂 For the sake of accuracy, I mosey’ed on down to the fro-yo shop down the street and got some. I don’t want to mislead anyone on this important topic. Fro-yo: Oreos, strawberries , m & ms, rainbow jimmies. If it’s ice-cream, ALL OF THE FUDGE SAUCE.

5.     What’s your current favorite song? 

Selena Gomez- Slow Down (listen to it! So good).

6)    Describe your perfect day.

I’d wake up at 8:45 after getting a restful 10.5 hours of sleep the prior night. My hair would be perfectly coiffed like Kate Middleton. I am wearing this:

mint

I would go get a pedicure, manicure and my eyebrows waxed and the salon would not be crowded. I would then go to brunch and get an omelet with a mimosa. The restaurant would not be crowded. The omelet would have a lot of ketchup on the side. I would then walk to my house and read a book in the air-conditioned treehouse in my backyard.

treehouse

I’m only there for an hour before I go back out into the sunshine of my yard.

poolyard

yard

I would have Diet Pepsi Wild Cherry ice cold. After a while, my friends would come over and we’d hang out in my perfect backyard. We’d drink Malibu bay breezes, mojitos and strawberry daiquiris. The pitchers would be endless. It would be sunny with a nice breeze. I would not get sunburn, I would get tan. We’d have nachos loaded down with cheese. We play with dogs.

Abbey Burger Bistro (my favorite burger place ever, it’s in Baltimore, come visit me and we’ll go) would deliver our perfect burger and fries.

The love of my life shows up. He is charming and courteous to my friends. We all go to Bora Bora on a 25 minute flight and stay in a spacious over-the-water bungalow. I go snorkeling and am not scared. Justin Timberlake, Beyonce and Darius Rucker show up and perform a private concert for us on the beach. Britney Spears shows up in her 2003 form and does a duet with Justin. During this show, we have more mojitos, Malibu bay breezes and strawberry daiquiris. There is lots of dessert served. It all has 0 calories.

I go home and fall asleep.

7. What’s your favorite thing about blogging (I love hearing this question!)?

I know that everybody says this, but I think that’s because everybody is always struck by it. The people. I started blogging because I had just moved to a new city and was lonely and desperate for connection somewhere. The people I’ve met via blogging are unbelievably awesome and inspiring. It’s so, so nice to post one of my stupid posts and have people understand and be like ‘oh hey I’ve been there!’ So reassuring, so helpful, so wise, and I’m so grateful. 🙂 be my friends foreeeeever guise.

8. How many hours of sleep do you usually get a night?

6.5-7 ish. Wish it was more but lately I’ve been kicking butt at weekend naps and the occasional weeknight nap like last night, where I sleep like the dead for 3-5 hours. I guess my sleep is evening out then.

9. Describe your most embarrassing moment growing up.

Ha. I have posted this before. I tried to think of another but I can’t because this is just…the one. I’ll repost hurr since it’s been a while and I don’t want you to go throughout your day without this awfulness. Let’s all relive it again.

Setting: My summer job at a bakery when I was 19. I was a cake writing guru (thank you, Catholic school, for my perfect cursive).

Super cute boy at counter: Hi, could you please write on my cake?

Super eager Caitlyn: Sure. What would you like it to say?

Super cute boy: Can I have your number?

Super EXCITED Caitlyn: Sure.

Super excited romantic Caitlyn, thinking this is finally my big epic love story starting off with an adorable “meet cute” writes my phone number on the cake in blue icing.

 Super EXCITED Caitlyn with a heart going 9000 beats a second hands cake back to Future Husband / Super cute boy: Here you go.

Caitlyn stands there.

 Future Husband / Super cute boy: Thanks.

Future Husband / Super cute boy leaves. (????????) NOT IN THE SCRIPT.

 Future Husband / Super cute boy takes a few steps away (Caitlyn notcreepily watching), glances down at cake, stops walking, pivots to walk back to bakery (Caitlyn, still standing there watching him, rejoices).

 Future Husband / Super cute boy: Um, I’m sorry, there’s been a confusion. I need you to write ‘Can I have your number’ on the cake. It’s an inside joke for my friend.

Caitlyn (smile falls): Oh.  Okay. Sorry.

Future Husband / Super cute boyhands back cake, Caitlyn scrapes off her phone number with BURNING red cheeks, writes “Can I have your number?” on cake, all but throws cake at boy and runs and hides in the back.

cringing. forever. cringing.

snow white scared

10. What’s your favorite sport to watch?

Swimming and hockey. I only watch swimming in the Olympics but my roommates in college were on the swim team and I’d always love to go to their meets. I just love a close race although I really don’t know how to cheer. I just yell GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO which is stupid because, it’s not like they’re going to stop and they need to hear me remind them not to or PUUUUUUUSHHH which I’ve heard a few coaches yell and makes me think of a labor & delivery room and then I get all panick-y and no.

Answer one of the questions in the comments! Or consider yourself nominated by moi.

24 thoughts on “Little Miss Sunshine

  1. Aw your embarrassing story is so cute/hilarious/insanely embarrassing. That’s something that would happen to me haha also, fun fact: I went to Abbey’s Burger Bistro on my 21st birthday for my first alcoholic drink. Berger cookie milkshake. I wasn’t super impressed. LOVE the details of your perfect day 🙂

    • so embarrassing. but at least i get to laugh about it today, even though i still kinda want to die when i think about it. i remember you went there for your birthday! i haven’t had the milkshakes i just love their burgers. yum.

  2. Hahahaha i love how your perfect day involves “and it wouldnt be crowded” over and over agian. I AGREE. i go out of my way to get to the good brunch spots in boston before anybody else is even awake because i hate crowds! yes, the girl who has spent the last 8 yeras in nyc and boston hates crowds. go figure. and my favorite subjects were languages- french, english and latin! what what (no wonder i have no real life skills 🙂 )

    • i hate crowds. so so much. and yep i always go to dramatic lengths to avoid them! i wish there was like a text alert system where people could be alerted that “caitlyn is leaving her house to go to here. don’t go here or you will be fined.” haha.

  3. uhm… can i get in on this perfect day? 😉
    oh my, i’m pretty sure i blushed for you while reading your most embarrassing moment. so glad you can look back and get a good laugh now.

    • 😉 i love my perfect day too! wish it could be a reality. sighhh. and yes, it was so embarrassing [still is actually ha] but almost worth it to have that story to share for the next 50-60 years.

    • i knew i had to go all out thinking about what it would entail. and now i’m pretty sad it’s probably never going to be a reality! 😦 haha. i seriously love slow down so much. i listen to it all the time.

  4. Great embarassing story, oh my gosh. Um I’m an Eagles fan-come back to us! I also love vanilla ice cream with rainbow jimmies, and my boyfriend makes fun of me for saying jimmies. YAY. Abbey Burger is the best-dinner date there in the future?

    • ahhh not until we get rid of vick. i just can’t. plus i think i’m pretty close to becoming a ravens fan. whoops? and yes- glad someone else says jimmies. AND LET’S GO TO ABBEY BURGER. i wish i could eat it everyday i love it that much.

  5. You really make me laugh. Hilarious. I love your perfect day. Quite refreshing considring so many people answer “oh gee just my normal day” like perrr-lease no one’s normal day is perfect.
    And that embarrassing story (though I read it the first time) really made me giggle again.

    • i’ve never understood that! no freaking way is my perfect day going to be my normal day at all. nooo thank you. haha. glad you got a laugh out of the cake story!

  6. Hahaha!!! I LOVE how much thought you put into your perfect day – sounds amazing, but you forgot to include me…creepy?? Yes. Anywayyyyyyy your embarrassing story is wonderful and tragic. I probably would have done the same thing. At least the cute boy didn’t make and rude comments like a lot of jerk boys would have. Don’t worry – you’ll have a meet cute one day, and it will be epic 🙂

    • um hell naw i didn’t forget you, both of you are already on my guest list! and yes i am very appreciative that he didn’t try to prolong our encounter and had the grace to not be funny about it and let me just go into the back and die.

  7. I LOVE that you said Ellen is one of your role models… she is an amazing person (from what I see) and I too look to her as a strong role model for others.

Leave a Reply

