Tuesday Things

This weekend I knocked over a bottle of nail polish that for some stupid reason I had only put the lid on halfway. Ah, this is the price I pay for accepting mediocrity in everything. Of course I didn’t notice the nail polish fall because I was looking for my I-pod and naturally it fell at the most perfect angle so it got all over my hardword floor, you know, the hardwood floor that my landlord calls “his pride and joy”? I spent all weekend googling how to get it off, buying supplies and scrubbing accordingly. It’s 98% off but I probably still need to scrub some more.

 

On Saturday I went to Zumba. I used to love Zumba and go all the time but I haven’t found a good instructor here yet. Instructors can make or break for me. I went to the gym near my house. It’s about a mile away and because I hate driving, I walked. This Zumba instructor was mostly a miss. She looked up at the ceiling the whole time, which was so weird. It’s like you could literally see the gears in her brain operating trying to remember the choreography.

 

On Sunday I took the next step in my relationship with BodyPump. I went to another class. I was expecting some lady named Jamie, and some tattooed guy named Heinz gets up there. He was no Sherri, haha. He was tough.  This class reminded me of how ignorant I am. Heinz kept yelling OH EM GEE KNEES BEHIND TOES and I can’t figure out what that means. Sherri says this too. Just say “Bend your knees more!” or “Move your feet back!” or something.

 

I’ve never been a good sleeper but it’s getting worse. My house is SO HOT and I can’t sleep because of it. I live with 3 girls who get cold at 74 degrees (wtf) so I let majority win that battle. I have 3 fans yet I can’t sleep at night because I’m so hot. I was talking to a co-worker about this and she said she prefers to sleep when she’s hot. I think these people are CRAZY. If you’re cold, you can add on more covers, blankets, clothes. You can do something about it! Or if you’re hot, there’s nothing you can really do.

 

Yesterday at work was data entry all day. It was horrendous and at the end of the day, I was all but skipping out the door. Woohoo that I have even more to do today. Yippee.

 

I need friends. I’ve been here 9 months and I still don’t really know anyone. My only kind-of friends that I met here are my roommates’ co-workers and I still don’t really gel that well with them considering they spend 45+ hours a week together and have all these inside jokes I don’t get. There’s Jenna and the new girl at work, but we don’t really hang out on weekends. But I don’t know how to meet anyone besides work. I refuse to join a sports league because I’m so terrible I will most definitely not be making any friends thata way. Blergh.

 

This morning was going to be my first BodyCombat class. I’ve been wanting to go forever, especially since I loved the boxing part of the Xercise Labs. I got out to my car at 5:20 this morning……and someone was parked behind me in our parking pad. It wasn’t my roommates’ or any of their boyfriends. I had no idea whose car it was. I didn’t know what to do as there was no way I could get out. I wasn’t about to rouse the neighbors so early in the morning. And plus, the neighbors have their own parking pads, so it probably wouldn’t be them. Do I call a tow truck? My brain was still half asleep and not churning out terrific ideas besides call 911 so I just went back in the house and went back to bed for 45 minutes When I got back outside an hour later, the car was gone, thankfully. I was so mad then. I realllllllllly want to go to BodyCombat! Sigh. This is the class that best fits my schedule so I have to wait until next week, I guess.

 

THIS SONG. Kelly Clarkson is my spirit animal. I can’t think of a song of hers that I haven’t loved. Obsessed.

how do you prefer to sleep- hot or cold?

43 thoughts on “Tuesday Things

  1. When I’m back in Towson we can be bffs 🙂 seriously though, I’m all for it! I only have a few friends at my school so more is always better! I’m bummed you haven’t found a good Zumba class there yet since if I don’t do xc you better believe ill be looking for a good one. Keep hunting and we can shake it together come August 🙂

  2. I’m with you on the hot room business. My hubby loves the room to be red hot but I win the battles because I cook his dinner. In the summer we always have the windows open and no heating in the room in the winter. I just prefer the room to be cool/cold when I get into bed because I can then get all cozy and warm. I just tell him to suck it up and put on a sweater!

    • haha i love that cooking dinner is the deciding factor! being cozy in bed is the best. and yes i’m with you- if you’re cold, put on a sweater or something!

  3. I’m attempting Zumba again tonight.. I took a LONG break after having some awful instructors (actually left a couple songs into the classes when I realized how bad they were going to be). 100% with you on the being cold while sleeping thing. My boyfriend’s body temperature has to be like 20º higher than mine, so we always have the AC and a fan on, and I would much prefer snuggling up under a blanket to sweating all night. As for the friends thing – I’ve had the exact same problem since moving here. We’ve been here two years and I can count on one hand the number of people I’ve met that are actually worth hanging out with. I met a few people through work and then our office closed and most of them were let go. There goes those friendships.. pretty sure we’d have some really awkward convos if we hung out. And then some of the couples we’ve met have just been really flaky. It’s tough when you’re used to having a good group of friends and then you just can’t find that in a new place. Good luck with it! I’m rooting for you 🙂

    • good for you for leaving! i wish i had the nerve. it really bugs me when i realize quickly that the class isn’t going to be worth it. yeah i didn’t think of how tough it would be. i just thought if i moved to a city with tons of people my age it would be easy. but nope. thanks lady :)!

  4. Yea, spirit animal? That phrase is wonderful. Haha. I’m hijacking it. I did this when I first saw wackadoodle in the blog world. So now it’s your turn to be victim to my thievery. Good luck getting that nail polish off. I’ve done that before and it’s eventually come off. I mean, it comes off nails, right? So it ought to come right off a floor for crying out loud. Data entry days suck big time. Enjoy your lunch break and 5 pm! Ha!
    I couldn’t sleep in heat either, I can’t believe everyone you’ve talked to is all about the heat. Sick. As a matter of fact, I couldn’t sleep last night because it was super hot. Luckily, I can remedy it with the AC but still! I can’t imagine your situation.
    You can make friends girl. You’re hilarious. If you were in ATL I’d invite you over RIGHT NOW. 🙂 I would be FURIOUS with that car. I would have called 911 immediately. Not cool. A + for waking up though. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

    • um i’d be honored to have you hijack it. i agree- as i was scrubbing the floor i kept thinking ‘my god this is bound to come off sometime. it isn’t this hard with my nails!’

  5. Yikes. I hope someway, somehow you can get it cool enough in your room to get some sleep! I feel your pain. When I was in England they had record breaking temperatures (90*+) but my landlady didn’t have air conditioning. I thought I was literally going to melt. Good luck with all of that!

  6. Yikes, no fun about the nailpolish. Grr that the car was parked behind you, how rude! And yeah, that would bother me too – tell me to bend my knees more or something, I need more specifics lol! I hate when it’s hot and I can’t sleep, I have 2 fans going on at night and sometimes that’s not enough.

    Wish I lived closer, I would totally be friends with you! I need new friends too. 🙂

  7. I always want a cold room! Especially in hotel rooms, nothing is better! Making friends is hard, I would recommend searching for blog meet ups or tweet ups, they can be hard to find, but can help you connect with people!

  8. “Kelly Clarkson is my spirit animal” made me narf tea out my nose in laughter. I love it, and I totally agree! Basically everything she produces these days is gold. 🙂

    I totally feel your pain on the friends issue, too. We’ve been in DC for over 4 years, and although we have a lot of grad school friends here, it’s almost impossible to see them. I don’t know if it’s a function of DC specifically or adulthood generally, but we really miss hanging out with friends. It sucks, so I completely get where you’re coming from with this. Hopefully you’ll find some awesome, friend-worthy people soon!

  9. LOL- “Do I call a tow truck? My brain was still half asleep and not churning out terrific ideas besides call 911” my brain would have gone to the exact same place. ugh thats the worst! but, a couple more minutes of shut eye isnt the worse thing in the world. and i say this all the time, but i REALLY need to try zumba!!

    • even more annoying was that it took me at least 10 minutes to fall back asleep because i was still stewing / trying to figure out what i was going to do if the car didn’t move!

  10. I remember when I was 22, moved to my first job and first city after college. It was 500+ miles and an 8 hour drive away from all of my friends. Those first 5-6 months were very tough in terms of meeting people and making friends. It will happen, though, I promise. Just hang in there, and be proactive. I know you said, “No sports leagues”, but I’m telling you, there’s no single better way to meet other 20-somethings in your city. If not that, then non-profit and volunteer organizations might be your best bet. Just get out there, it’ll happen!

  11. Gosh, I remember being in your shoes—new city, new job, no friends. I cried for the first 6 months. You will meet friends and love your adult life! I teach all the Les Mils programs (pump, step, combat, attack, cx, rpm, etc) and that car would have been toast if it prevented me from getting to my class!

  12. Does he say “knees behind toes” during squats and lunges? If so that means you are lunging forward such that your needs go over your toes, which puts too much pressure on your knees. This picture might help: http://physiodetective.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/slide21.jpg

    Look at how she keeps her knees in line with her ankles in the perfect form one, as opposed to having her knees come forward.

    Also, I am with you on the sleeping in the cold thing. I much prefer cold over warm!

  13. I hate being too cold or too hot when I sleep. My boyfriend always jokes that ‘all the stars must be aligned for you to sleep’ and it is so true. I feel your pain! In summer we can have the fan on but then the noise of the fan is too loud and I can’t sleep, it is a vicious cycle!

    With the friends thing how about some other type of hobby non-sporting. It may be too nanna-ish but a book club? or something more creative like an art class?

  14. I’ve never understood people who like to be hot when they sleep! I’ll be up all night if it’s even slightly warm. Apparently cold (and dark) is the natural cue for our bodies to sleep – I mean, obviously it makes sense as at night it generally cools off and gets dark. So being hot? Totally bizarre to me haha.

    Also I’ve heard throwing a heap of ice on a tray in front of a fan will help cool off a room better as it melts. Just make sure whatever you’ve put the ice on will also accommodate the resulting water.

    (PS. Love your blog. I’ve been creeping for ages but the hot vs. cold debate was something I couldn’t keep quiet about.)

    • yess i don’t get it either! how do they not see that it is the worst thing in the world?! i’ll have to try that ice trick- thanks. and yay! thanks for commenting 🙂

  15. Pingback: The Numbers Game | city & the cubicle

  16. I don’t like being hot at all, so I feel your pain. I agree with you, when it is cold out, you can out more clothes on and get warm. When it is hot out, there is NOTHING you can do .. you can be naked and you’re still going to be hot! haha My husband likes to put our thermostat up to save $$, and we are in a constant battle over it. As soon as he leaves the house, the thermostat is turned down! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Back At It With Big Ideas, a Vengeance and a Partial Fail | city & the cubicle

  18. Pingback: Five Facts..Monday | city & the cubicle

Leave a Reply

