Your Fave Fitness Reads?

baby reading

So as you may or may not know, I love to read. Love it, love, love it.

And as you most definitely know, I am attempting to get in shape and start leading a healthier lifestyle. Woohoo. And I have a lot to learn since pretty much the only thing I do know is that I don’t know anything.

I thought I’d combine the two and turn to some books to help. I’ve been prowling around Amazon, Goodreads, and good old Google, to see what some books are that I should look into, and then I realized: duh. must as well ask the awesome blogverse.

What are some of your favorite books or authors on health, fitness, exercise? Jillian Michaels’ name keeps popping up in my research (obviously). Oprah tells me about Geneen Roth. I don’t know anything about intuitive eating (or even really what it is) so should I be reading about that? My birthday’s coming up so I’ll be getting all kinds of B & N and Amazon giftcards from the dutiful relatives I have trained all these years. 🙂

i want to read and learn so surrender all your favorites. if you have them.

spongebob waiting

11 thoughts on “Your Fave Fitness Reads?

  1. Good question. Can you post a list of your finds/suggestions when you get them all? I would love to hear them too. Rob is really into “The New Rules of Lifting” right now. I haven’t read too many running-related books. Sorry I can’t be more help!

  2. I am a big fan of the Tosca Reno “Eat Clean” books. She just has a way of making nutrition make sense. As for running … “Ultra-Marathon Man” by Dean Karnazes. Not for learning how to do it, but simply for inspiring you to get out there and run until you puke. Seriously, the guy is a machine! I agree with Brooke above … you should blog your list when you get it compiled. I think there are a lot of us who would enjoy delving into that!

  3. Haha you’re too funny! Dutiful relatives. 🙂 I wish I could help but I’m a bad reader – romance novels and mysteries are about all I can handle. Good luck! 🙂

  4. Mark Sisson-the Primal Blueprint series author. Love, love, love his way of eating. Also just finished How Smart Chefs Stay Thin and it you are a foodie like me, you will love all the little tips and tricks in it. Oh boy..I could go on and on.. lol
    Good luck, I am a heavy reader too, so I can’t wait to see what everyone else comes up with.

Leave a Reply

