Boston

Boston. What is there even to say?

People with words far superior to mine have already said it so much better than I ever could.

It just makes me so sad and so angry. I’m so unbelievably sick of these incidents. I was glued to my TV and Twitter feed last night, gleaning any information I could. But this morning in the locker room when all the news stations were talking about, I turned away. I felt so nauseated and that I really could not stand to hear one more syllable about it. That’s not a good attitude to take I guess, but hearing about stirs up all this anger and sadness that I’m not very good at dealing with.

Even I, for all my non-coordination and athletic clumsiness, have always loved the Boston Marathon since I was assigned to give a presentation on it in 6th grade. I loved what it stood for. Triumph, respect, unity, and perseverance. Every year it brings out the very best in tens of thousands of people. It’s a day to celebrate humans, and what our bodies and minds can do. It’s so sad that somebody decided to mar this historic worldwide celebration with unspeakable horror.

My thoughts and prayers go out to wicked beautiful Boston and the families whose lives will never be the same. My gratitude goes out to the emergency personnel and volunteers. It doesn’t feel like enough, but it’s all I’ve got.

Just keep running.

Image

 

EDITED: I just remembered……..today is the 6 year anniversary of Virginia Tech. Never forget.

vt

4 thoughts on “Boston

Leave a Reply

