Recalculating

A week after I realized my golden running plan had a major flaw in it…nothing has happened.

Last week was a major struggle. I was just so damn tired. I’d sprawl on my bed to read at 6:00 PM and within minutes would be passed out. I’d wake up at 7:15-ish, cursing myself. Then when I’d crawl back into bed at 10, I tossed and turned for hours. So when that alarm went off, it took me a longgggg time to actually exit my bed, my running bag was nowhere near prepared, and I was miserable. It also rained most of last week.

I’m trying to hold myself accountable and not make excuses…but then there’s this week. I’m at a conference for work. This is my second conference ever, but the first one I’m out on all by myself. My boss, after hearing how great I did at my first work presentation, decided this meant I was ready for my first solo conference and thus, here I am. I get here super early each morning and leave late. Luckily

it’s a fairly easy one logistics wise, because it’s 12 minutes from my house. Although of course that didn’t prevent me and my abysmal sense of direction getting lost for 25 minutes on my way home yesterday. Is there anything more annoying than driving out of a parking garage and your GPS taking 15 crucial minutes to find a signal?

The conference ends tomorrow afternoon so I’m hoping I’ll go for  a quick run afterward. Then Thursday & Friday, I WILL  be running again before work with my new adjusted schedule. I’ll also be home this weekend, back in the lovely land of suburbia, so I’ll run then too. This 5k is in 8 weeks and I really, really need to get serious.

4 thoughts on “Recalculating

  1. Good luck! Is it possible to start your day with a workout? As a busy college student, sometimes waiting until the end of the day is so exhausting and they last thing I feel like doing is going to the gym. It’s hard to squeeze the time in, but maybe working out in the morning (or during lunch breaks!) would work for you.

Leave a Reply

