What I Ate Wednesday, I Finally Made Bean Salad Edition

Here we are at Wednesday again, and it’s time for WIAW. I went home this weekend, went grocery shopping and …. bought a can-opener I can use! Now I can finally make  that elusive bean salad I’ve been dying to bring for lunch at work. This was my favorite lunch in high school. My mom would make it on early Monday morning for me to take for lunch all week. I would pick this lunch over the buffalo chicken wraps from the cafeteria. THAT is love, devotion and how you know it’s good. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks in between. I’ve always assumed it was somewhat healthy, but as I wrote about on Friday…I have no freaking clue. Anyway. I’ve started timing out my meals. I’m a compulsive snacker and stuff-my-face-when-I’m-bored couch lounger so I figured it was something new to try.

Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons (congrats on your big news!) for letting this rookie crash the partay again.

WIAW

Enough chatter. Let’s do this.

yogurtbowl1

Breakfast, 8:45 :

Yogurt bowl – Vanilla No-fat Chobani, Cinnamon crumble granola.

mangoslices

Morning snack, 10:30:

Can’t.get.enough.mango.slices. Spontaneous grocery store purchase that actually worked out? Score. Sweet, delicious and so good. Also mixed in this bag are peach slices. Yum!

beansalad3

Lunch, 12:30

Reunited with my bean salad after the lost college years. After I finished preparing this, I kept muttering to myself “Look at all the colors! It is SOO colorful.” Clearly my salads with lettuce weren’t doing it for me.  This recipe features: dark red kidney beans, cannellini beans, black beans, orange pepper, red pepper, carrots, and celery. I think that’s it. With 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil and a lil bit of salt and pepper sprinkled on top.  Just as good as I remember it.

raisins

Afternoon snack, 2:30

Raisins.

lasagna

Dinner, 6:00

Lasagna my wonderful mom sent back with me. And a big piece of banana bread she also sent back with me because it was a Big Piece of Banana Bread kind of day.

photo-5

To really throw you for a loop, here’s What I Drank Tuesday. This Dr. Oz detox drink– grapefruit juice, apple cider vinegar and a little drop of honey. It’s not good. But after you have a Big Piece of Banana Bread kind of day, you kinda should finish a drink like this.

 

23 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday, I Finally Made Bean Salad Edition

    • Never tried, I’ll have to now! I did just discover there’s a Trader Joes a five minute walk from my office, wahoo. Believe it or not, I’ve never been there (!!!) so I will definitely have to take a walk and explore! Thanks for the comment!

    • Haha, it’s interesting for sure! I’m so used to just getting food and eating it whenever the thought struck me, but I figured I sincerely need to figure out a way to stop snacking when I’m not hungry. We’ll see how this turns out, ha! Thanks for the comment 🙂

    • Me too!! I saw them in the grocery store and thought “Hmm..I will probably like them”, turns out I love them! They fulfill my sweet tooth in a healthy way which makes me feel satisfied, full and very pleased with myself 🙂

    • Hey Lauren! Thanks for asking..it starts next week! I’m so looking forward to just starting! I feel like I’ve been talking about it forever, haha. I for sure will be posting about it!

Leave a Reply

