There’s No Place Like Home

My weekend was marvelous. I left work on Friday, drove straight home to good old PA, and spent a weekend at home. My parents are empty-nesters now, so they’ve been asking me to come home for a weekend. I am so glad I did. It’s amazing how going back to the place where you were raised, simply being in the presence of the two people who’ve loved you more than anything, even before you were physically present in this world, can just recharge your batteries and rejuvenate your spirit.

My parents are so darn good to me. They took me out for all my favorite meals and hometown haunts. We went to Target where they bought me my latest round of groceries, work clothes, work-out clothes, household items for my bedroom, bathroom, and just general house needs. My dad took my car to the car wash and filled it up with gas before I left. He even checked my tires 😉

I was excited to get back to my own house, but there is just something about getting in your car and driving away from your parents to head back your own life, seeing them in the rearview mirror standing on the lawn with tears in their own eyes .  It kills me. I’m tearing up thinking about it now.

I am a lucky girl.

Image

One thought on “There’s No Place Like Home

Leave a Reply

