All The Gear In The World

kicks

Got me some new kicks! I’m thankful for Amazon gift cards leftover from Christmas to help me afford these bad boys. Meet my pair of Mizuno Wave Creations 12 and they are the chosen ones. They are going to be the ones to carry me through the TWO 5K’s I’ve signed myself up for in the next 4 1/2 months.

Two?

Yup….two. I signed up for ANOTHER Color Run. Another 5K will hopefully keep me motivated. My sister decided she wanted to run a 5k too, so we created a family team for The Color Run in my hometown. This one is two months after my first one in May. The fact that I, who can’t run a lap, am going to run two races in two months is just hilarious and awesome. Granted, it’s not like I’m running two marathons in two months. It’s a 5K.  But it’s a big deal for me. It’s awesome because I’m excited to get my body moving again. I haven’t joined a gym since moving here (I wrote about this before, but they’re too expensive for me at this point)

I’m fervently hoping that I like running. I’m still a little nervous that my knees won’t be able to take it. I have no idea if I have bad knees or anything to warrant worrying about this, but I’ve just heard about people who can’t run because they have bad knees. I’m still a little nervous that no matter how excited I am, I just won’t be able to do it.

I can buy the best running sneakers out there, I can make a playlist of all the best songs, I can download the greatest app to help me figure out how to do it, but I am going to have to be the one to crawl out of bed and get those feet moving and pounding the pavement. No app or sneakers can do that for me. Although if there was a way that they could, I’d probably exhaust all options to make it happen.

My modus operandi, in many aspects of my life, has been minimalism. Do the very least amount of work beforehand, show up, and when I don’t do as well as I could have, shrug my shoulders and say “Ah, well, I didn’t prepare.” Lather, rinse, repeat. Same poor results. Learning how to run is something I definitely don’t want to be a minimalist about. I want to go all in, baby. I want to sweat. I want to feel sore. I want to ache. I want to feel alive. I want to do those last three safely of course and not do too much on my poor, unsuspecting, couch-loving body.

So…hopefully in about a week or two, I’ll have some posts about, you know, actually running. Not just all my thoughts about learning how to run.

Happy  Friday!

FF

thatfridaybloghop

 

Aloha to My First Aloha Friday!!

5 thoughts on “All The Gear In The World

  1. Part of the fun of running is the learning and talking about it 🙂 You can totally do this!

    WIth that said, wouldn’t it be awesome to have a pair of running shoes that gets you out of the bed and out the door without listening to any of your reasons why you shouldn’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

