Adventures in the Kitchen: The Salad Diaries

I realized that posting a picture of my salad everyday probably isn’t very exciting. I mean, just the phrase “a daily post about my salad” makes the marketer in me want to weep. But nonetheless, I thought sharing some salad diary posts would be interesting if you were wondering how my baby step attempts were turning out.

Tuesday:

I successfully created a salad dressing!

A maple balsamic vinaigrette from Allrecipes.com

½ cup olive oil

¼ cup balsamic vinegar

¼ cup maple syrup

¼ cup Dijon mustard

salad_dressing_creating

The Salad of Hope.

I drizzled the dressing on in the morning, learning from my past mistake! If I think too much about the fact that it’s syrup and mustard together I feel nauseated. That combo just sounds so disgusting! Anyway, I was very excited for this and I had such a good feeling about it but I didn’t love this salad either. One of the problems is I think I love raisins, so I dump them in there and….I don’t love raisins. Also the apples are definitely bad. The dressing didn’t wow me either, but I’m not sure why and I don’t know what, if anything, it’s lacking or what I can to do to fix it. Also maybe I haven’t loved my salad experiments because I tried a new lettuce. Usually I buy the head of lettuce from one store, and this lettuce I’m using came pre-packaged from a different store. Is there a big difference between the lettuce head and lettuce pre-cut and bagged? I don’t know, maybe I’m just reaching here.

The next day, I didn’t like the salad either. Sans raisins, the dressing was still off to me. I have a bottle of Hidden Valley Ranch Light that I turned to for today’s salad, but I really wanted to be successful with this salad dressing creation venture. Just the fact that I made anything on my own is so exciting!

The lettuce has started going bad, so I’m going out tomorrow morning to get my usual head of lettuce. If I stick with the head of lettuce I usually get, then hopefully maybe my salads will be turning out better.

One thought on “Adventures in the Kitchen: The Salad Diaries

  1. Pingback: Serial Grocery Store Dater | city & the cubicle

Leave a Reply

