Yes, Carly Rae Jepsen, this is crazy.

I think one of the strangest things about leaving all school behind is the knowledge that whatever you’re starting next has no tangible ending date.

School always had an end date and then a next step that everyone took. It could be a long time until there’s an ending date to what I’m doing now.
Now that I’ve moved to a new city and have started a new job, the realization is so startling to me. On Friday, I received a meeting request for a meeting taking place in June.

“How odd,” I thought to myself, “Don’t they know I won’t be here?”

Then I remembered. And started giggling.

Christine (girl who sits behind me) chatting away with Jenna probably thought I was crazy and probably whispered that they were glad they had resolved not to be friendly to me because clearly I was crazy. Seriously, their whispering is going to send me over the edge one of these days.

I am here forever. I don’t get that incredible, relaxing summer vacation anymore. Any vacation I take now needs to be requested, I’m not just automatically given three months off anymore.

It’s pretty startling. This is so permanent. I am not just a visitor or a tourist. I officially live here. I live in a state different from my parents. I now am a “city girl”. I know one of my New Year resolutions was to switch my license and register my car and all that, but still, that’s just empty words until I’m walking out of the DMV with a new license.

This is SURREAL.

One thought on “Yes, Carly Rae Jepsen, this is crazy.

  1. Everyone feels this way. My first job post college I remember thinking on the 1st day… so I have to come here everyday…… indefinitely??? Good news: you can explore what you love, change jobs, careers, cities, etc. Lots in store but it is so overwhelming and surreal (as you perfectly put it) at first. I wish you lots of luck!

Leave a Reply

